IA2's CNSS Certified Training Program

What is the "CNSS"?

The CNSS, formerly the National Security Telecommunications and Information Systems Security Committee (NSTISSC) is a standing committee of the President's Critical Infrastructure Protection Board, and is chaired by the Department of Defense.

The Secretary of Defense and the Director of Central Intelligence are responsible for developing and overseeing the implementation of government-wide policies, principles, standards and guidelines for the security of systems with national security information.

Under Executive Order (E.O.) 13231 of October 16, 2001, Critical Infrastructure Protection in the Information Age, the President redesignated the National Security Telecommunications and Information Systems Security Committee (NSTISSC) as the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS). The Department of Defense continues to chair the Committee under the authorities established by NSD-42. This was reaffirmed by Executive Order 13284, dated January 23, 2003, Executive Order Amendment of Executive Orders and Other Actions, in Connection with the Transfer of Certain Functions to the Secretary of Homeland Security.

The CNSS provides a forum for the discussion of policy issues, sets national policy, and promulgates direction, operational procedures, and guidance for the security of national security systems. National security systems are information systems operated by the U.S. Government, its contractors or agents that contain classified information or that:

1.involve intelligence activities;
2.involve cryptographic activities related to national security;
3.involve command and control of military forces;
4.involve equipment that is an integral part of a weapon or weapons system(s); or
5.are critical to the direct fulfillment of military or intelligence missions (not including routine administrative and business applications).
CNSS provides a forum for these activities as well as including security training.

See Reviewer Comments
Tng. Sched.
Contact Info
Student Comments
See 4012-15 Certification
See 4016 Certification